Local Football

FC Meralco Manila Pulls Out of PFL

In what has been a shocking turn of events this offseason, one of the country’s biggest club will cease to exist.

FC Meralco Manila has recently announced on their social media platform that they will not join the 2nd season of the Philippines Football League citing problems with getting sponsors and operating costs.

FC Meralco Manila was founded in 2006 as the Loyola Agila Football Club, changing its name to Loyola Meralco Sparks in 2011 after the acquisition of Manila Electric Company or Meralco. In 2017 they once again changed their name to FC Meralco Manila signifying their entry to the inaugural Philippines Football League.

They have won two trophies in their short history namely the 2013 UFL Cup and the 2014 PFF National Club Championship,  all during the Loyola Meralco Sparks Era.

A link to their official press announcement follows.


Most Popular

To Top